Showing results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: SNMP-Configuration

  1. #1
    Join Date
    08.11.2009
    Posts
    27

    Default SNMP-Configuration

    Dear all,

    I email COPA-DATA support on SNMP configuration for RuggedCom switch to be monitored in Zenon.

    It's all about importing variables from RuggedCOM switches using SNMP driver. I have configured SNMP agents but in Offline Miblist tab to browse agent, no variables are imported. I already defined SNMP settings in the switch.

    I got a reply from support and tried but still i am not lucky. I also tried with MIB browser but didn't work. Please help me out further on PC security issue on SNMP, other Zenon SNMP driver configuration & switch configuration.

    Thanks,
    Rolindo

  2. #2

    Default Re: SNMP-Configuration

    SNMP really is pretty straight forward. You could try and use "wireshark" to view which request is going to the switch, and if there is any response, when you press the "browse" button in the driver configuration.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot650200.png
Views:	82
Size:	118.2 KB
ID:	300

    Click image for larger version

Name:	ScreenShot650201.png
Views:	35
Size:	117.5 KB
ID:	301

    I don't have any direct experience with the RuggedCom switches. Maybe there is a newer firmware available for the switch, that you can install. You may also want to try resetting the switch to factory default settings.

    Maybe if you post your exact model, or even a user manual for this switch, it is possible to find some more information on the internet.

    Have you tried contacting Switch manufacturer support?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    08.11.2009
    Posts
    27

    Default Re: SNMP-Configuration

    Hi Mark,

    I have made one try today and made it work. This time by choosing security model snmpV2 instead of snmpV3 on RuggedCom RSG2100 & RSG2200. The problem is on RuggedCom switch but Zenon should also be able to read on V3. Can you help me findout why?

    Thanks mark,
    rolindo

  4. #4

    Default Re: SNMP-Configuration

    Hi Rolindo,

    Good to hear that it is working now.

    Where did you find that the zenon SNMP driver also supports SNMPv3? As far as I know, SNMPv3 is not supported.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    04.09.2009
    Posts
    84

    Daumen hoch Re: SNMP-Configuration

    Quote Originally Posted by markclemens View Post
    Hi Rolindo,

    Good to hear that it is working now.

    Where did you find that the zenon SNMP driver also supports SNMPv3? As far as I know, SNMPv3 is not supported.
    Actually it hasn't been mentioned in the driver manual (and in the license receipt of Zenon) that there is no support for V3. Having no clue made it a lot difficult to figure out that there is a compatibility issue of Zenon with the SNMP versions.

    Cheers
    Salman

Similar Threads

  1. Configuration of Alarm in Zenon Editor
    By bmcbrita in forum zenon Supervisor
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 6th August 2009, 09:16
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th November 2007, 13:32
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th September 2007, 13:17
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th August 2007, 16:57

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •