Showing results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Driver Commands

  1. #1

    Default Driver Commands

    Hi Guys
    I am using IEC 61850 driver. Will be fetching nearly 40 thousand variables from this driver. Sometimes the Driver stops without any notification. Is it possible to Start the driver online with the Driver Commands? Is there a way to detect whether the driver is running or not?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Driver Commands

    hi,
    >Sometimes the Driver stops without any notification.

    the driver probably receives some malformed frames from the IEDs. The iec850 driver is not a validation tool for IEC61850 or MMS communication, so if an IED is not compliant with MMS protocol in a very strange way or makes some fuzzy frames ...
    Please contact your COPA-DATA Support officially to support you in the diagnostic of the issue.

    > Is it possible to Start the driver online with the Driver Commands?
    NO.
    Else our customers will tend to start the driver, instead to contact Support and give us the chance to make the driver "immune" against this particular implementation mistake in IED.

    > Is there a way to detect whether the driver is running or not? 
    My proposal would be to choose some LREAL variable which the IED is updating regularly, e.g. some analogue value *[MX] or timestamp (*t[MX]), and link with a reaction matrix causing by any value change an alarm with delay e.g. 30s. Then when this value does not change for 30s --> you will get the alarm.
    Alternative to fast floating values from real IEDs would be to configure an additional zenon Logic with IEC61850 Server with very simple data model and without reports and toggle in this server some *stValST] value. All your driver instances may then have additional connection to this virtual 850-server too. An 850-Server in Logic supports as many clients connections as you want, even when all those clients have the same IP.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Driver Commands

    Thank You for the Fast reply
    Here I am using Zenon Logic on the other end to simulate an IED.(like a gateway)
    Now when the driver fails I have to restart the Runtime to start the driver again. This is not possible since it takes more time for my runtime to start and it affects the other projects and processes. Is there any work-around?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Driver Commands

    There is no way to start a zenon driver later manually, only Runtime is able to do this, and it does it only at own start. A driver is not a "normal" Windows application, the start demands additional registration and handling in OS.
    Contact Support officially, we have to diagnose the MMS communication.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    10.12.2007
    Posts
    176

    Frage AW: Driver Commands

    Sorry, now I'm a little bit confused. What does the functiontype Driver commands -> Start driver really do when it doesn't start the driver? In help documentation it says this function initialize and starts the driver...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Driver Commands

    this function starts logically a stopped driver, so a driver with deactivated communication - because of function "stop driver".  This is to stop/start communication e.g. while the PLC/IED is in maintenance, communication cables are damaged, etc.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    19.01.2017
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: Driver Commands

    Hi,

    I added 2 temporary buttons yesterday in a Sicam 230 program to be able to stop and start the IEC61850 driver.

    The stop command is working fine and stops all communication on the driver.

    However, the start command doesn't seem to do anything.

    Does anybody have any hints on what might be wrong?

    We have a redundant configuration (redundant Scada Servers, redundant terminal servers, x thin clients).

    Philippe

  8. #8
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    787

    Default Re: Driver Commands

    In Sicam 230 the driver IEC61850 is made by Siemens, not by COPA-DATA (is not the same as zenon IEC850 driver). I do not know the Sicam 320 driver well enough to give any hint, maybe contact Siemens Support.

Similar Threads

  1. Sending two commands at once
    By gz0000 in forum zenon Energy Edition
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 14th February 2017, 13:27
  2. Unlocking in commands
    By knubla in forum zenon Energy Edition
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th June 2014, 11:01
  3. PROFIBUS commands
    By jroht in forum zenon Energy Edition
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th July 2013, 13:48
  4. Catching Driver-specific Commands
    By brc in forum Drivers
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 8th May 2013, 10:15
  5. DNP commands
    By ansab.tp in forum zenon Energy Edition
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th September 2012, 11:31

Tags for this Thread

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •