Showing results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Elements Invisible Sometimes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    14.09.2017
    Posts
    16

    Default Elements Invisible Sometimes

    Hello,

    In Zenon7.20 elements are getting invisible sometimes please refer screenshot. It is properly running from last 4 months suddenly issue occurs and now it seems that it is solved but we are not able to found the root cause for the same.

    Operating system windows 8.1. Windows updates are stopped.
    Can you please suggest causes behind this issue.

    Regards,
    Rahul.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG-20190124-WA0007.jpg  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    801

    Default Re: Elements Invisible Sometimes

    Possible explanation could be that zenon Runtime is not displaying screen elements linked with not existing functions, variables or symbols; or variables never received from a driver.
    On your screenshot: what kind of screen elements are you using? what is linked with? 

  3. #3
    Join Date
    14.09.2017
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Elements Invisible Sometimes

    Hello,

    It is working properly now with same RT so how can we say that variables never receive from driver or not existence of variable?

    In above screenshot I have used "Combined Element" as element and attached variables with Boolean datatype.
    also for Numeric elements we have faced same issue as attached.

    PLC: Siemens 1200 and driver used is "S7 TCP-IP driver".

    Regards,
    Rahul.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails IMG-20190124-WA0006.jpg  
    Last edited by rahulindore05 : 13th March 2019 at 12:32

  4. #4
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    801

    Default Re: Elements Invisible Sometimes

    If variable has no value at all (as never received from PLC) then depending on screen element type the element will be not displayed or will be empty. With a right-click on element you can see (per default, context info can be deactivated) the name of variable, and - if it has a value - the status "spontaneous" and maybe some more status bit descriptions. So no status text - no value.

    Alternatively, you can check the variable values and status bits in screen type "variable diagnosis". 

    Have you checked in LOG (Diagnosis Viewer) if the S7 TCP-IP driver logs some errors?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    14.09.2017
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Elements Invisible Sometimes

    Hello Ursula,

    Sorry for the late reply.

    The issue occurring to customer on random basis, so it is difficult to run diagnosis viewer and wait for issue to come to get the log files.
    I have observed one thing, while this error mention above occurred at same time driver executable file (i.e. s7TCP32.exe) is not running.
    I had take trials also by manually exiting s7TCP32.exe and found same error.

    Is there is chances that particular executable file gets stopped by SCADA itself? or any other way other than human intervention?
    Or does we get any windows log when driver stop?

    Regards,
    Rahul Indore.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    801

    Default Re: Elements Invisible Sometimes

    the logging system ('logging server') in zenon is always running and by default stores errors of zenon components ('logging clients', e.g. all zenon drivers)  in files on HDD; also while DiagViewer is not running. DiagViewer is to setup the logging server and view the existing historical or the online data (going to the latest created file). 
    Thus, on your HDD, you have already files with all logged errors, by default in C:\ProgramData\COPA-DATA\LOG

    zenon Runtime is terminating driver executables only on RT exit. Thus, if Rt is running but a driver is not running, then either the Windows user has terminated the driver application manually it or the application had crashed (could maybe happen by reception of some fuzzy frame). A use can terminate the driver application in the taskbar - if drivers are not hidden (see project setting 'Runtime setting' - check box 'Driver invisible'). Or using the Task Manager.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    14.09.2017
    Posts
    16

    Default Re: Elements Invisible Sometimes

    Hello,

    Thank you for the reply.

    After start of zenon runtime in 10-12 minutes s7TCP.exe driver crashed automatically. We had check using new project where only 2 tags are configured in that project also found same issue on that particular PC. after analysis it looks like it is issue of operating system.
    Currently We had raised the ticket for same issue in Copadata HQ.

Similar Threads

  1. Elements.Type immer 0 ??
    By drosewick@hofmann-global.com in forum VSTA
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th August 2011, 22:14
  2. how to remove windows elements during run time
    By tanveerali in forum zenon Supervisor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th May 2011, 23:28
  3. Resettting Flashing of Elements
    By shikra in forum zenon Energy Edition
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22nd April 2011, 00:09
  4. how to change text and color of invisible button
    By tanveerali in forum zenon Supervisor
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th February 2011, 00:09
  5. Restore deleted links in elements
    By sebastiank in forum VBA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th August 2007, 09:58

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •