Showing results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Writing status bits on Zenon Logic Global Variables

  1. #1
    Join Date
    15.07.2008
    Posts
    10

    Default Writing status bits on Zenon Logic Global Variables

    What kind of status bits are settable from Zenon Logic on Global variables?
    I've found that none of M1..M8, ALT_VAL are settable (or almost are not visibile from Zenon Runtime)

    I'm using STRATONNG driver.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    15.11.2016
    Posts
    108

    Default Re: Writing status bits on Zenon Logic Global Variables

    Hello,

    Did you activate the setting "Allocate status flags for variables with embedded properties"?
    - This is explained in the help: Programming languages - Reference guide -> Variable status bits
    -> Also make sure you global variables have the "Symbol" option checked.
    -> See attached screenshot.

    Please not that not all Status bits are supported.
    -> The status bits that get transferred via the driver are: I-Bit, Bits 32-63.
    -> This is mentioned in the stratonNG help-chapter:
    stratonNG -> Configuration -> Settings in the driver dialog -> Connections
    If event mode is activated the status bits of a zenon
    Logic variable (if available) are transferred to the zenon variable.
    Transferred
    are:

    • I-Bit
    • Bits 32 to 63


    BR,
    Georg
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 2017-11-06_11h58_57.png  

  3. #3
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    1,038

    Default Re: Writing status bits on Zenon Logic Global Variables

    The list of zenon Logic (or straton) IO drivers taking care of status bit (and/or timestamps) is in:
    zenon Help -> zenon Logic -> zenon Logic Workbench -> Programming languages - Reference guide -> Variable status bits

    The stratonNG driver is not on the list but it uses protocol similar to 'Binding' via Ethernet.

    In general: when your communication between zenon and zenon Logic runs on a TCP driver, then for each data point you have 2 separated variables, one in zenon, one in Logic. They are communicated in frames via TCP (and not sharing a common RAM). Thus the supported status bits depend on protocol used for this communication and range of implemented features.

    To what Georg has written i would add a small hint: the update of status bit or time information is considered only when also value of variable changes.


    I'm not sure if this is relevant for you but do you know that:
    - in programmed simulation mode of a driver it is possible to simulate almost any status bit.
    - if you set as 'extern visible' a zenon variable from Intern driver to evaluate its status bits in Logic, then you have to take care that the project is configured to support for internal variables the status bits. This project (project.ini) setting you need also for VBA access on status bits of intern variables.

Similar Threads

  1. Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP
    By mbi in forum Engineering Studio Logic & Logic Service (former zenon Logic Workbench & Runtime)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20th October 2015, 09:13
  2. zenon logic doesn't communicate with external variables in zenon
    By mashjj in forum Engineering Studio Logic & Logic Service (former zenon Logic Workbench & Runtime)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th February 2015, 13:10
  3. Writing and reading bits from\to Word
    By masonpiotr in forum VSTA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th January 2015, 09:00
  4. Re: zenon logic doesn't communicate with external variables in zenon
    By anjali.gk.nair@gmail.com in forum Engineering Studio Logic & Logic Service (former zenon Logic Workbench & Runtime)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd August 2014, 10:51
  5. ArchiveValue Status bits 32-63
    By stolyarov_as in forum VSTA
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th April 2012, 14:51

Tags for this Thread

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •