Showing results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Modbus Process Gateway

  1. #1
    Join Date
    12.11.2015
    Posts
    2

    Default Modbus Process Gateway

    Hello Everyone, Good Day!
    We are using redundant Servers(Server-1 and Server-2) as Data Acquisition Servers in one of our projects. We have to send the acquired data on these servers to DCS over Modbus.
    In this regard, we additionally included Modbus Slaves in both of the Zenon Run-time server license.

    Could someone explain how do I configure the required signals into the Process gateway to make these signals available at DCS. We are using a Separate Industrial PC as Engineering Station where our Editor license is installed and running.

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    765

    Default Re: Modbus Process Gateway

    You can start the zenon Process Gateway on any computer with running zenon Runtime, so on Server 1 and/or Sever 2 and/or any network client.

    Any variable you have in zenon project can be available via zenon Process Gateway. In MODBUS protocol the class 0 (the main addressing area in a Slave) is called 'holding register' (or is called simply 'register'). This class is supported by zenPG MODBUS Slave. In MODBUS protocol it is "MB function" 3 - the DCS must use to read data; and "MB function" 16 (10h) the DCS must use to write data. One offset in holding register is a WORD (INT, UINT). So, if the required signals are INT/UINT variables in zenon each have to be configured in zenPG MODBUS Slave as separated offset.

    For example, assuming that you have 2 variables in zenon: signal1, signal2 : INT. The DCS is configured to be a MODBUS Master and to communicate via TCP with your MB Slave with 'Slave Address' (SlaveID) = 1. The DCS must expect these signals as 'register'. Let us assume DCS will expect signal1 in offset=1, signal2 in offset=2 etc.
    Steps:
    0. start zenon Runtime on the PC where you want that zenon Process Gateway runs too. Start Process Gateway (you may do this using startup tool or add zenon function 'start application' and start via button in your project or even 'AUTOSTART' script). On this Forum was already explained how to start and it is documented in zenon Help.
    1. in started zenPG click button [Settings].
    2. configure 'MODBUS connection' --> 'Slave Address' = 1, connection via "TCP/IP"
    3. export into list for MODBUS your zenon variables:
    - in list on right: click on variable signal1 - then button [>] - then give it offset=1
    then export signal2 (offset=2) etc.
    4. click [OK].
    --> Slave is running, DCS may connect and read data.

Similar Threads

  1. Process gateway Modbus
    By archie in forum Drivers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th November 2014, 07:21
  2. Process Gateway
    By mehrdad66 in forum zenon Energy Edition
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th October 2014, 19:28
  3. Modbus Process Gateway
    By navaneet in forum Drivers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th June 2014, 07:47
  4. Process gateway(Modbus)
    By ansab.tp in forum Drivers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th February 2013, 12:33
  5. Process Gateway
    By murphys in forum Drivers
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th February 2011, 09:45

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •