Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    09.10.2015
    Posts
    6

    Default Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

    Hello,

    I'd like to know if there is a way how to expose Zenon Logic variables to be used accessed (read/write) from another point in network via TCP/IP (MODBUS protocol). What I'm trying to achieve is to write information to Zenon Logic from my HMI panel.

    Thank you very much,

    Sincerely

    Martin

  2. #2
    louis.paglaiccetti Gast

    Default Re: Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

    Hi Martin,

    Are you using zenon as HMI, or another 3rd party?
    If you are using zenon as HMI, then you should use the stratonNG driver for read/write communication to zenon Logic. The stratonNG driver supports both polling and spontaneous communication and you can import the variable directly into zenon HMI from zenon Logic.

    Otherwise, if you are using a 3rd party HMI then you can probably configure and license the zenon Logic Modbus Slave, to read/write the zenon Logic tags from a Modbus Master.

    You can get details in the zenon Logic manual:
    IEC 61131-3 Programming Environment -> Fieldbus configuration -> MODBUS networking

  3. #3
    Join Date
    09.10.2015
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

    Thank you very much for your quick reply. I'll look into that


    P.S.: I'm using a 3rd party HMI.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    799

    Default Re: Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

    please note that the MODBUS slave in Logic communicates with a master using the IP port of Runtime; in Logic RT it is per default port 1200, not 512.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    09.10.2015
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

    Thank you.

    Which driver should I use if I want to access (read/write) the variable inside Logic via 3rd party HMI? ZenonNG or Zenon32?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    799

    Default Re: Exposing Zenon Logic variables to be accessed via MODBUS TCP/IP

    Where did you find drivers with name zenonNG and zenon32?
    Drivers stratonNG and straton32 are drivers in zenon, not in Logic, so they are not working with other HMI system, they work only in zenon.

    To give access via MODBUS to variables in Logic you have to create in Logic - in fieldbus configuration - the driver 'MODBUS Slave'. In Help there is a screenshot with example.

    In Slave then 'Insert Master/Port' with e.g. slave number 1, then 'Insert Slave/Data block' with e.g. "Holding Register". Then you may link there existing Logic variables (also variables having already a profile information like, e.g. "STRATON" or "ZENONRT"). The "Holding Register" is the main class in MODBUS protocol, a Master (3rd party HMI) may read and write it. Basically one offset in Holding Register has 16 bits (responds one variables of INT/UINT/WORD data type), so few BOOL variables you may assign to single bits of the same offset and a DINT variable allocates two offsets.

Similar Threads

  1. command using Modbus TCP/IP
    By ziadnajjar in forum Drivers
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 21st February 2018, 11:15
  2. zenon logic doesn't communicate with external variables in zenon
    By mashjj in forum straton / zenon Logic
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27th February 2015, 13:10
  3. Re: zenon logic doesn't communicate with external variables in zenon
    By anjali.gk.nair@gmail.com in forum straton / zenon Logic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd August 2014, 10:51
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th June 2013, 10:18
  5. Real Variable Modbus TCP
    By pkreisel in forum Drivers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 15th February 2011, 23:39

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •