Showing results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Server Client Problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    23.04.2015
    Posts
    4

    Default Server Client Problem

    Good Afternoon,
    My runtime project will not run as a server, I have two machines with 7.2 runtimes installed. I can remote transport and run the projects fine, if I do not have the network active option ticked and primary and standby server defined.

    When I enable this option which is what I want. When checking the runtime VBA, the Net Type is set to 3(which is client I believe)

    If do the same but to set my programming terminal, to be server then generate runtimes file and then run it, this works and the Net Type is set to 1.

    Am is missing something?

    Regards
    Jim

  2. #2
    Join Date
    27.06.2011
    Posts
    96

    Default AW: Server Client Problem

    Hello Jim,

    have you verified that you don´t have a typo in the server name in the project´s properties? Have you tried to add the domain name to the computer name?

    kind regards,
    Alex

     

     

     


  3. #3
    Join Date
    20.08.2009
    Posts
    293

    Default Re: Server Client Problem

    Hi,

    on which system do you get the NetType 3?

    The designated Server, Standby or on both?

    Can you ping the Server from the Standby by name and vice versa?

    Regards,
    Bernhard

  4. #4
    Join Date
    23.04.2015
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: AW: Server Client Problem

    Server name is correct and domain names. The project runs if I am not in server mode and communicates with all variable etc...

    Nettype 3 issue resided with both servers, all servers pinging. System is running on 2012 R2

  5. #5

    Default Re: Server Client Problem

    Hi,

    If everything else fails, one thing you could try is disable IPv6 at the network card.

    Best regards,
    Mark

  6. #6
    Join Date
    23.04.2015
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Server Client Problem

    IPv6 is not enabled.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    24.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg
    Posts
    88

    Default AW: Server Client Problem

    Hello Jim,

    I would approach the issue the following way:

    -> At the zenon project -> under Network options - only enter the PC name of the server and standby server without the domain name
    -> Stop Server/Standby RT
    -> Compile RT files - and transfer them to the server and standby
    -> Start Diagviewer via zenon start up tool on Server and start logging
    -> Start all runtimes

    Check if network redundancy is working - if not check diagviewer log messages.

    Also ensure that on all RT PC's zenNetsrv is allowed in the firewall (it uses port 1100).
    (You can find more about network requirements in the zenon help: Manual -> Network -> Requirements)

    There is also a system driver variable called "[Network] Standalone/Primary Sever/Standby Server /Client" - you can use this instead of VBA to check nettype.

    Best regards,
    Konstantin

  8. #8

    Default Re: Server Client Problem

    Hi Jim,

    What may also be causing this, is an invalid registration as terminal server.

    Could you try and register through the "standard" button in the startup tool and see if that resolves the issue?

    Best regards,
    Mark

  9. #9
    Join Date
    23.04.2015
    Posts
    4

    Lächeln Re: Server Client Problem

    Problem resolved, thanks for all the help.
    Should anyone encounter this problem, this was the cause.

    The runtime project could not resolve the computer name, as for some reason 2012 was defaulting to the backup network adapter.

    We changed the primary adapter settings, in advanced TCP/IP settings, disabled Automatic metric, and set the interface metric to 1.

    We will try another 2012 build and see if it works.

Similar Threads

  1. Server & Client Runtime
    By abdalhadi in forum zenon Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30th January 2015, 07:18
  2. Client as Standby Server
    By salmanhassan2 in forum zenon Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 6th February 2013, 23:48
  3. Different OS on server and client machine
    By anemet in forum zenon Network
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th September 2012, 08:14
  4. Problem mit Server Client Netzwerk bei CE Geräten
    By nsc2001 in forum zenon Operator
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 26th November 2010, 07:55
  5. Client / Server problem
    By stevegrice in forum zenon Network
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 9th December 2009, 01:58

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •