Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: OPC UA configuration

Default OPC UA configuration

Hi,

I am rather new to zenon and have a question about the configuration for zenon OPC UA server and client in runtime. What I want to do is to fetch variables from a runtime on another PC. I found out that I could do that by using Process Gateway OPC UA Server. However, in the configuration, I do not know what to write in the URL Discovery section. I am just doubtful about what I want to do so I am seeking guidance from the forum. I would appreciate any help that you could give me. Thanks

Regards

Mehrdad

Default Re: OPC UA configuration

Hi Mehrdad,

For sure this is possible using the zenon process gateway OPCUA server and OPCUA client driver.

When your OPCUA process gateway is running on the other runtime system, you can use "opc.tcp://:" in the driver configuration of the OPCUA client driver in the editor.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 11-03-14 at 11.57 AM.PNG
Views:	89
Size:	16.6 KB
ID:	1542

When your settings are complete, you can right click the driver and online import the variables that you need.

But did you know, that with zenon an easy and fully integrated server / client mechanism exists? There is no explicit need to use the OPCUA process gateway / OPCUA client driver, if you want to display some values from another runtime.

Best regards,
    Mark

Hi Mark,

Thank you for the reply. I will try it in the server configuration for OPC UA Server. I should say that I not only want to display variables on another machine, I also want to use them on the other machine. Nevertheless, could you elaborate on the integrated server/client mechanism on zenon itself?

Thanks a lot.

Regards

Mehrdad

Hi Mehrdad66,

While the process itself and the mechanism behind it are very simple, it is not easy to describe in a few lines when you are still fairly new to zenon.