Showing results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Connection to IED

Default Connection to IED

Hi,
    I am rather new to using Zenon so I don't have an advanced question. I wanted to control a breaker (open or close it) by using zenon and establishing a connection to the IED that is available in the lab. I have assigned CSWI [ST] to the breaker symbol and use it activated the set value in numeric value. Then I made two buttons: ON and OFF. And assigned CSWI [CO] to the buttons. To make a connection between the buttons and the breaker, I had to make a reaction matrix for on and off states and assign to the CSWI[ST] variable. The variable from the IEC is the LEDGGIO logical node so the idea is to see if the LED on the IED gets turned on or off by pressing the buttons in the Zenon runtime. So far, I haven't been successful and since I am new to this tool, I wanted to seek help here and hope someone can provide it. Thanks

Default Re: Connection to IED

>I have assigned CSWI [ST] to the breaker symbol
    Do you mean *CSWI/Pos/stVal[ST] ?
    The *Pos/stVal[ST] data attribute represents the position of circuit breaker – open (0) / closed (1), so it is the best choice for breaker symbol.

> and use it activated the set value in numeric value.

I’m not sure what you mean, please explain it more detailed.

Note: in IEC61850 Protocol the [ST] attributes are ‘read-only’. The position of circuit breaker can be changed when you set value to variable *CSWI/Pos/Oper.ctlVal[CO]. The IED will not react when you try to set value directly to *stVal[ST].

>Then I made two buttons: ON and OFF. And assigned CSWI [CO] to the buttons.
    You can link with buttons two (new created) zenon functions ‘write set value’ – both linked with*CSWI/Pos/Oper.ctlVal[CO] variable; functions with option ‘directly to HW’ and value 1 for ON and 0 for OFF.