Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

  1. #1
    Join Date
    19.07.2012
    Posts
    4

    Ausrufezeichen Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

    Hallo,

    wir wollen die Runtime 6.5 über einen Terminal Server mehreren Usern zur Verfügung stellen.
    Der TS läuft auf einem Server 2008 R2 und dort haben wir eine RemoteApp der Runtime angelegt um es zur Verfügung zu stellen. Der TS Server is gleichzeitig auch der Backupserver von ZenOn.

    Problem ist, dass wenn jemand die Runtime via RemoteApp öffnet, dass dann die Redundanz nicht mehr funktioniert und nur im Demo Mode läuft. Dann läuft nur die RemoteApp und die Redundanz weshalb man den Backup Server eben auch hat läft nicht.

    Die Einstellungen mit Client=1 in der .ini wurden gemacht.

    Was muss man tun, dass man Zenon als RemoteApp zum laufen bekommt und dass gleichzeitig der Server als Backupserver für ZenOn dient und nicht in den Demo Mode springt?

    Vielen Dank für eine Info

    KFN

  2. #2

    Default Re: Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

    Hi KFN,

    It is recommended to use dedicated systems for the server and standby server, and only run client instances on the terminal server.

    Also you have to be aware that each runtime instance started on the terminal server requires its own license. When you use a network dongle you have to make sure that you have sufficient client licenses in the dongle for the maximum number of runtime instances that are started on the terminal server. (max. number of thin clients)

    Best regards,
    Mark

  3. #3
    Join Date
    19.07.2012
    Posts
    4

    Ausrufezeichen Re: Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

    Hi Mark,

    thanks for your fast reply concerning the Terminal Server usage.

    If I understood you correctly, this means, ZenOn supports Terminal Server Services
    and it would be also possible to use it in the Cloud with a VPN connection, right?

    Another question is, would it be possible to use the client in the Cloud for different sites, where a server is installed. It mens to provide the client to the users no matter where the server is running and for different sites in different countries?

    Thanks for any info

    Br,

    KFN

  4. #4

    Default Re: Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

    Hi KFN,

    I apologize for the reply in English, it seems I did not pay enough attention to the language of the original post. Normally I would answer in German to a German post Anyway, while we are at it, I will stick with the English.

    A normal zenon client requires a TCP/IP connection with name resolution to the zenon runtime server.

    Wether this TCP/IP connection is over normal ethernet, fiber optics, radio, GPRS, ADSL over copper, UTMS, LTE or any other physical layer does not really matter, and for the TCP/IP traffic it is normally transparent if this goes through a VPN tunnel.

    As long as the bandwith is not too small, you'll be able to run a client anywhere. (I have run runtime clients through a VPN tunnel half accross the world with a 5 Mbit downstream / 1 MBit upstream, and although it was not the fastest connection in terms of project runtime files synchronization, it works fine)

    The zenon network is very efficient in terms of bandwith, a client subscribes to changes for e.g. variables that are of interest (shown in the screen) and the server pushes all relevant information (value changes, alarms, etc) to the connected client. When you plan on displaying large amounts of data e.g. in reports or trend displays on the client, you may want to consider larger a bandwith.

    When you have a virtual machine with a supported Windows OS hosted by a cloud provider that is yours to control, you can install and run a zenon runtime client here, provided there is the connection through the firewall over the VPN connection to the runtime server, with name resolution, and you have a connection to a network dongle for the runtime license.


    In regard to your second question, it may be more interesting for you to look at a webclient instead of a zenon runtime client, however I don't know your exact configuration and it may be best to discuss your requirements directly with a zenon specialist.

    You can integrate projects for different sites using an integration project and configure the runtmie client start the integration project. This way the client automatically starts all the sub-projects, and connects to the servers of all sub-projects, that can be at different locations.

    The zenon runtime has a parameter for the startup project path. The runtime files in this directory for the startup project tell the zenon runtime wether to run the project standalone, as a client or run as a server, and wether to load any additional sub-projects. While it is possible to change the startup path depending on which project you want to run on the client (e.g. if you want to connect to a single sub-project / site only), the webclient offers a more elegant way of doing this, allowing you to create an HTML configuration page where the user can choose which site to connect to.

    Also the licensing options for the webclient may be more interesting with a "read-only" webclient that can operate as a normal client, login, change screens, execute functions, etc. but for the limitation that it cannot influence the variable values.

    Have a look at the documentation in the online help regarding the different options of the zenon network, integration project and the webclient

    Best regards,
    Mark

  5. #5
    Join Date
    06.01.2012
    Posts
    5

    Default Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

    Hi,

    We have an issue with power restart of the SAS system.

    We would like to resume the system as it was before shut down of the supply for the complete system.

    We need to start the Zenon server/ Editor and Zenon Runtime and also Zenon remote client in the same LAN network .

    We need all services/ Programs for Zenon running after the power startup automatically with out any user login,

    Further we need to resume and send the first alarm to Control center the servers SERVER1 & SERVER2 has restarted and now resumed and the current server is Server#.

    Please help us how to configure zenon in windows startup for Windows 7.

    Regards
    Rizwan

  6. #6
    louis.paglaiccetti Gast

    Default Re: Zenon Runtime / Terminal Server

    Hello rizwanwar,

    I think the most critical piece is resuming the zenon runtime(s) after a power failure. The zenon Editor is not critical to the running system.

    First, you will need to adjust some BIOS ACPI settings, so that the PC will automatically restart itself. These settings and the actions vary by manufacturer, but it is commonly called "Power after failure" and you can set something like "Always On" or "Restore last state".

    Once that is done, then you need a method to start the zenon runtime automatically. There are generally 2 main approaches to have zenon runtime automatically start up after a powerfailure. The default and standard behavior of zenon runtime (regardless of server or clients) is the runtime is running as a Windows process, in the context of the logged in user who launches the program.

    Option 1 - Recommended- By using zenon 7.11 or newer, you can configure zenon runtime to run instead as a Windows Service, meaning it runs in the context of SYSTEM, and does not require a logged in user. This way you can maintain the security of the system requiring a password to access Windows desktop, but zenon runtime will be active when OS loads.
    The disadvantage is that you will no longer have access locally to the zenon runtime GUI if it is running as a service (due to the fundamental way a service works in Windows OS) . In this case, your runtime servers do not provide local visualization, so a zenon runtime client or web client should be used to access. Read more in the zenon documentation: Help Manual -> Runtime -> Starting Runtime as a service.
    Also, check this related forum post. http://www.copadata.com/forums/showt...ht=interactive

    Option 2 - Unsecure
    - You could configure Windows to load and login without any user intervention required. This info is found freely online e.g. by a google search. Then if a shortcut to the zenon runtime executable is added to the Windows Startup folder, it will be started automatically. Removing a password requirement is NOT a secure option however, and I would not personally recommend it.

    Note: When you add zenon to the Startup folder, or register it as a service, there may be some difficulties if zenon starts before other dependent services/processes are ready. For those issues, check this forum entry: http://www.copadata.com/forums/showt...ostart+runtime

    Finally,
    The zenon CEL automatically keeps a log when a runtime stops, starts, or is reloaded on the servers. There is nothing extra needed to generate these events.
    If you wish to actually create an alarm when a runtime server fails, then you can add a string reaction matrix onto the system driver variable called "Current Server". The reaction matrix can then generate an alarm, requiring acknowledgement, whenever that system variable changes.

    Lou

Similar Threads

  1. Runtime am Terminal Server
    By kwb in forum Editor and Runtime Setup
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th August 2013, 09:17
  2. Ändern der IP-Adresse des Zenon Runtime Server
    By vogt in forum zenon Network
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9th March 2012, 08:47
  3. Runtime über Terminal Server
    By kwb in forum zenon Network
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 31st July 2009, 11:22
  4. Web Server Runtime - Start and pictures
    By martin@bmw in forum Webserver/Webclient
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th June 2009, 19:56
  5. CE doesn't find runtime-server
    By sebastiank in forum zenon Operator
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28th August 2007, 11:44

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •