Showing results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Status Variable in Global Project.

  1. #1

    Default Status Variable in Global Project.

    Hi everyone,

    I have an integration project consist of global and local project. Then, i have set a few alarm area, group and classes. The i want to set a status variable for each class, group, and area. Somehow, i found that i cannot set the status variable at each group class and area. What i want to do is, when an alarm is triggered, there is an alarm sound that will play continuously, then after i acknowledge the alarm, the sound should stop.

    Hope anyone can help me on this,

    Thanks


  2. #2
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    1,117

    Default Re: Status Variable in Global Project.

    as GLOBAL project cannot contain variables, if you like to link status variable(s) to the alarm areas/groups/classes you have to move the alarming to the nodes in the right project. 

  3. #3

    Default Re: Status Variable in Global Project.

    Hi..

    Thanks for reply..so...so which one is the preferred one to configure the alarm group and alarm class..because i have the integration project...is it the best way is to configure at individual project or i need to add another project as my central project.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    1,117

    Default Re: Status Variable in Global Project.

    A GLOBAL project and an Integration project are not the same. The GLOBAL exists only in the Workspace, after compilation, the used components are placed then in the resulting compiled files of the projects using them.

    Typically, I'm placing only the alarm classes ("info", "warning", "error", "failure", "communication loss") in GLOBAL, and areas and groups in goal (sub)projects; but giving the IDs in different range, so then in screens of integration project I can easy filter the AML/CEL to the area of a subproject.

    The most important alarming tool are for me the Alarm Areas. In subproject, in alarm areas, i'm then using alarm aggregation to the classes, linking class from GLOBAL and internal variables from the subproject (for status).

    The alarm groups i'm using to deactivate/activate e.g. communication paths (variables from particular driver(s) and/or connections) or of kind of limits - to prevent/stop an eventual alarm flood or misleading alarms, e.g. while experimental production process procedures, or PLC/equipment maintenance, or ethernet issues. In my concept, by definition, the groups are never something GLOBAL. Sometimes i'm creating groups = alarm areas to have additional information/indicators/functions per area.

    Hint: the use of XML export / import can speed up editing.  
     

  5. #5

    Default Re: Status Variable in Global Project.

    Another question is can i used equipment model and alarm group, class and area for the same variable. Will this affect the filter at aml and cel

    thanks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    01.07.2008
    Location
    Salzburg, AT
    Posts
    1,117

    Default Re: Status Variable in Global Project.

    AML and CEL are showing entries fulfilling the filter criteria.

    A variable you can assign to area(s) ether directly in variable alarming properties or by assigning variable to equipment model. There is a check-box to decide if direct or via equipment.

    You cannot assign a variable to group or class. To group or class you can assign the particular limit, so the particular value (or status bits evaluation) of variable(s).

Similar Threads

  1. Change user in global project
    By jurijcadez in forum Engineering Studio & Service Engine (former zenon Editor & Runtime)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th August 2019, 09:51
  2. Change global variable from PopUp window
    By xxxd0nixxx in forum VBA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19th November 2018, 12:27
  3. Writing status bits on Zenon Logic Global Variables
    By maurodx in forum Engineering Studio Logic & Logic Service (former zenon Logic Workbench & Runtime)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th November 2017, 13:26
  4. Alarm status line in multimonitor project
    By stolyarov_as in forum Engineering Studio & Service Engine (former zenon Editor & Runtime)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12th July 2013, 08:00
  5. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 25th November 2010, 10:54

Posting Rules

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •